The price ladder
$80–$100Plastic trick robots with a remote. Kids eight and up.
$179–$189Companion pups: fur, heartbeat, respond to touch and voice. Older adults.
$319–$499Real AI (Loona) or a real walking kit (Bittle X). Not both.
$1,299–$1,500Sirius walks and looks like a robot; Jennie is a waitlist.
$2,899–$3,199Sony aibo. The most lifelike walker, in its last sales window.What each step buys
Each step adds one of three things: response ($179 — the pup reacts to you), intelligence ($439 — it recognizes you and learns), or dog-like walking ($319 kit, $1,299 finished, $2,899 alive-looking). No product under $500 combines fur, response and walking; that is what the $35 ads promise and why they disappoint.
Torn between the $180 tier and the $430+ tier? Under $200 vs $400+ walks through what the extra money actually buys, buyer by buyer.
The costs that are not on the price tag
| Cost | Who pays it |
|---|---|
| Batteries | Joy for All: C cells, about $10 a set, every few weeks with heavy use. Nearly everything else charges by USB. |
| Subscriptions | None for Joy for All, metaDog, Sharper Image, Bittle or Moflin. Loona's AI chat is free today, may change. aibo: $300/yr after year three. LOVOT: $999/yr overseas plan. |
| Fragility | Moflin and the plush pups are not for rough play. |
| Returns | Buy from Amazon, the maker, or a retailer with a written policy. Ad-funnel sellers charge $50–$80 to return a $35 toy. |
Which tier for which buyer
- Older adult, or dementia: $179–$189. Read the caregiver guide.
- Child under eight: $16–$100.
- Child over eight, or a curious adult: Loona at $439, or Moflin ($429) if comfort matters more than tricks.
- Robotics hobbyist: Bittle X. Wants the real thing: aibo, now, while it is still sold.
The five-question picker on our home page runs this logic for you.
$16–$42: walking plush toys
A motor, a bark chip, two or three AA batteries, sometimes a leash remote. Sold on Amazon under dozens of generic names, and under the Wuffy, Nicoo and Froplay names at $35–$70 through ad funnels. They walk a few steps and make noise. They do not respond to a voice, learn, or connect to anything. Right for a child under six; wrong for anyone who was hoping for a pet. Examples with returns: $15.99, $16.99, and the leash-remote version at $39.99. If you arrived here from a "$34.99 AI puppy" ad, read the robot puppy ads guide first.
$80–$100: plastic trick robots
Hard-shell robots with a remote or app that sit, roll over, do push-ups and respond to a few voice commands. The Sharper Image AI Dog Robot lists at $99.99 (frequently $79.99 with a code; out of stock when we checked) and WowWee's Dog-E launched at $79.99 with stock now thinning. These are gadgets for children eight and up. They are not cuddly and they are not companions.
$179–$189: companion pups that respond to you
This is where a robot dog first becomes something a person can bond with. Fur, warmth, a heartbeat you can feel, and a bark or sigh in response to touch and voice. They do not walk. The Joy for All Pup ($179.99, C batteries, no app) is the one used in state aging programs and most of the published research; the Elephant Robotics metaDog ($189, rechargeable) is the newer alternative from a real robotics company. For an older adult, or anyone with dementia, this tier is the answer, not the compromise.
Joy for All Pup |
metaDog |
Sharper Image AI Dog |
|
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (verified September 5, 2026) | $179.99 | $189–$258 | $99.99 |
| Availability | Out of stock at manufacturer; check retailers | In stock | Unknown |
| Best for | Someone with dementia, or an older adult living alone who was a dog person. | A dog-person senior at home, when someone can handle charging. | A young child's birthday, if it comes back in stock. |
| Feels like a real animal? | Yes — fur, holdable | Yes — fur, holdable | No — hard body |
| Moves around? | Stationary (lap/desk) | Stationary (lap/desk) | Stationary (lap/desk) |
| Talks / AI chat | No | No | No |
| Needs app or Wi-Fi? | No | No | No |
| Battery | 4 x 1.5V C alkaline batteries (included); no charging | USB-C rechargeable; ~45 min charge, 'up to 10 h' runtime (manufacturer claim) | 2 x AAA (not included) for remote; robot battery not specified |
| Weight | 3.9 lb (official site) | Not published | 3.5 lb |
| Subscription | None | None | None |
| Warranty | Not published on product page (not verified) | Repair within warranty period (length not stated); 7-day return unopened | Sharper Image standard return policy (not verified) |
$319–$499: real AI, or a real quadruped, but not both
KEYi Loona ($439–$499 depending on the week) is a palm-sized wheeled robot with a camera, face recognition, games, and GPT-4o voice conversation that is free for now. It is the best-value "actual AI" robot pet and a strong choice for a child over eight or a tech-curious adult; it is hard plastic with a ninety-minute battery and needs Wi-Fi. The Petoi Bittle X ($319–$469) is a palm-sized walking quadruped sold as a programmable kit: it walks, it is open-source, and it is a robotics project rather than a pet.
Loona |
Petoi Bittle X |
|
|---|---|---|
| Price (verified September 5, 2026) | $439–$499 | $319–$469 |
| Availability | In stock | In stock |
| Best for | Kids 8+, tech-curious adults, families who want tricks and conversation. | STEM-minded kids and adults. |
| Feels like a real animal? | No — hard body | No — hard body |
| Moves around? | Rolls on wheels | Walks |
| Talks / AI chat | Yes | No |
| Needs app or Wi-Fi? | Yes | No |
| Battery | Li-ion; ~90 min continuous runtime at 40% screen brightness, ~2.5 h charge (per product manual); auto-returns to dock (Premium bundle) | Li-ion pack; ~1 h continuous walking; charges via USB |
| Weight | 2.42 lb (~1.1 kg) per Amazon listing/manual | ~300 g class (not published on page); carries ~1 lb payload |
| Subscription | None required as of Sept 2026 — GPT-4o conversation is currently free; KEYi says this 'could evolve' (cloud costs) | None |
| Warranty | 1 year, lifetime support (official) | 1 year; 30-day returns |
About $1,500: the lifelike puppy that is not shipping yet
Tombot Jennie, the robotic Labrador puppy designed for people with dementia, has no published price. Its CEO has cited a launch target of roughly $1,500; the waitlist is free with no deposit, and pricing goes to waitlist members closer to shipping. It is the product every "AI puppy" ad is imitating. Join the list; do not pay anyone who claims to sell it today.
$1,299: a walking robot dog that looks like a robot
Hengbot Sirius ($1,299 retail, waitlist only after its 2025 Kickstarter) is a desk-sized quadruped with real walking gaits, an open SDK and rough early reviews. It is for people who want a robot, and know it.
$2,899–$3,199: Sony aibo
Still the most lifelike walking robot dog sold to consumers: 22 axes of motion, face recognition, home mapping, a personality that develops. Three years of the aibo AI Cloud Plan are included, then it is $300 a year. Sony announced in June 2026 that it is ending Japanese sales once stock runs out; U.S. sales and support continue for now, so treat it as a last-call purchase. Not sold in Illinois or Baltimore because of biometric-privacy law.
Tombot Jennie |
Hengbot Sirius |
Sony aibo |
|
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (verified September 5, 2026) | ~$1,500 (unconfirmed) | $1,299 (waitlist) | $2,899–$3,199 |
| Availability | Waitlist | Waitlist | In stock |
| Best for | Join the waitlist if you can wait; buy a Joy for All if you cannot. | Robotics hobbyists with patience. | An adult enthusiast with the budget who wants a walking dog and accepts end-of-life risk. |
| Feels like a real animal? | Yes — fur, holdable | No — hard body | No — hard body |
| Moves around? | Stationary (lap/desk) | Walks | Walks |
| Talks / AI chat | No | Yes | No |
| Needs app or Wi-Fi? | No | Yes | Yes |
| Battery | Rechargeable; Tombot says charge overnight for all-day use (exact hours not published) | ~40–60 min active, 1–2 h idle; ~1 h charge (per user reviews) | ~2 h active per charge, ~3 h recharge; self-docks on charging station |
| Weight | ~6.5 lb (~3 kg) per CEO interview (Dec 2025) | ~1 kg (2.2 lb) | 2.2 kg (~4.9 lb) |
| Subscription | None announced (free smartphone app for naming/customization/updates) | None | aibo AI Cloud Plan required for full features: 3 years included, then $300/year (us.aibo.com) |
| Warranty | Not published | 1 year; lifetime support (official) | Sony limited warranty (terms not verified); all sales final |
Prices and availability verified September 5, 2026. We re-check monthly.
Joy for All Pup
metaDog
Sharper Image AI Dog
Loona
Petoi Bittle X
Tombot Jennie
Hengbot Sirius
Sony aibo