Two to buy, two to skip

Joy for All Cat
Best for: The default. Purr you can feel, no app, no charging, the best evidence.
Watch out: Alkaline C batteries — ongoing cost and a 'died in the night' risk

MetaCat
Best for: Same price, USB-C rechargeable, voice commands. No studies; ships from China.
Watch out: Ships from China; returns only unopened
Compared
Joy for All Cat | MetaCat | MarsCat | Maicat | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (verified September 5, 2026) | $159.99 | $159–$189 | $1,199–$1,399 | Not sold to consumers |
| Availability | In stock | In stock | Unknown | Unknown |
| Best for | Someone with dementia, especially a lifelong cat person; memory-care units. | A cat-person senior in their own home where someone can charge it; families who hate buying batteries. | Makers and robotics hobbyists, when it comes back in stock. | Developers who contact Macroact directly. |
| Moves around? | Stationary (lap/desk) | Stationary (lap/desk) | Walks | Walks |
| Needs app or Wi-Fi? | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| Battery | 4 x 1.5V C alkaline batteries (included); no charging | Rechargeable via USB-C (port in belly pocket); ~45 min charge, 'up to 10 h' runtime (manufacturer claim) | 18650 Li-ion (INR18650MJ); ~3 h charge; auto-docks below 10% (Premium/Developed sets) | Not published |
Full spec table (battery, weight, subscription, warranty)
Joy for All Cat |
MetaCat |
MarsCat |
Maicat |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (verified September 5, 2026) | $159.99 | $159–$189 | $1,199–$1,399 | Not sold to consumers |
| Availability | In stock | In stock | Unknown | Unknown |
| Best for | Someone with dementia, especially a lifelong cat person; memory-care units. | A cat-person senior in their own home where someone can charge it; families who hate buying batteries. | Makers and robotics hobbyists, when it comes back in stock. | Developers who contact Macroact directly. |
| Feels like a real animal? | Yes — fur, holdable | Yes — fur, holdable | No — hard body | No — hard body |
| Moves around? | Stationary (lap/desk) | Stationary (lap/desk) | Walks | Walks |
| Talks / AI chat | No | No | No | No |
| Needs app or Wi-Fi? | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| Battery | 4 x 1.5V C alkaline batteries (included); no charging | Rechargeable via USB-C (port in belly pocket); ~45 min charge, 'up to 10 h' runtime (manufacturer claim) | 18650 Li-ion (INR18650MJ); ~3 h charge; auto-docks below 10% (Premium/Developed sets) | Not published |
| Weight | Official page lists 3.9 lb (identical figure to the Pup; not independently verified) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Subscription | None | None | None | None |
| Warranty | Not published on product page (not verified) | Repair for malfunctions in normal use within warranty period (length not stated); 7-day return for unopened items | Standard warranty (length not stated); optional 12-month extended $399 | Not published |
Which one?
Joy for All Cat — $159.99
- Only robot pet with a care-home RCT (Bradwell 2022)
- Purr you feel; mute switch keeps it
- No app; used in state aging programs
- C batteries die without warning
MetaCat — $159
- USB-C rechargeable, "up to ten hours"
- 20+ voice commands, custom wake word
- Purr vibration and heartbeat
- Screen eyes; ships from China; no studies
Buying for someone with dementia? Read the caregiver guide first — the feeding problem, batteries dying at night, muting, washing.
Why the cat is the quiet success of this category
Robot cats are cheaper than the dogs, quieter, lighter on a lap, and the one product with a real randomised trial in care homes is a cat. The Joy for All cat opens and closes its eyes, lifts a paw, turns its head toward your voice, rolls over for a belly rub, and purrs with a vibration you can feel — the single feature caregivers mention most. It weighs about four pounds. It is the cat in the eight-home Cornwall trial where neuropsychiatric symptoms fell in the homes that had one (Bradwell 2022), the cat in the UCHealth hospital pilot that began in April 2026, and the cat New York's aging office has given out by the tens of thousands. The complaints are consistent: C batteries that die without warning, fur you can only wipe, and a motor you can hear in a silent room.
MetaCat in detail
MetaCat is Elephant Robotics' answer to the Joy for All cat, and on paper it wins: a rechargeable battery instead of C cells, twenty-plus voice commands with a wake word you choose, a purr vibration and heartbeat, and dress-up outfits. Three trade-offs: the eyes are animated on small screens, which some people find less natural than Joy for All's mechanical eyes; it ships from a China warehouse in one to three weeks and returns are only for unopened items; and it has no studies or program deployments behind it. If someone can plug it in, it is a very good buy. Joy for All Cat vs MetaCat, in detail →
MarsCat and Maicat
MarsCat ($1,199, list $1,399) walks, stretches, kneads, sits, plays with toys, and recognises faces, with six personality types and a programmable Developer Set. It is a robotics product for makers, not a comfort object; the plastic body and the $399 extended warranty tell you what to expect. Every colour showed sold out on the official store on the verification date. Maicat won a CES Innovation Award in 2022 and raised $64,600 from 74 backers in 2023. There is no store and no published specs; the company points buyers to a consultation form. We list it so you can stop looking.
What about the cheap ones on Amazon?
Search "robot cat" on Amazon and you will find Perfect Petzzz (breathing plush, no interaction), Percy, and a long tail of no-name animatronic cats under $60. The ones we have read reviews of are toys: a breathing motion, sometimes a meow, no touch response. For a small child they are fine. For an older adult, the difference between a $40 breathing plush and the $160 Joy for All is the difference between something that lies there and something that responds — and response is what the trials measured. If budget is the barrier, ask your Area Agency on Aging before settling for a toy.
Cat or dog?
The cat is $20 cheaper, quieter, and in stock more often; the pup has BarkBack and suits lifelong dog people. Both weigh about the same. If you are unsure, the cat. Best robot dogs →
Prices and availability verified September 5, 2026. We re-check monthly.

MarsCat
Maicat